Tribute to Sarah J. Maas – Charlee Vale

This week, we have gathered a few bloggers to tell us more about what they love about Throne of Glass as a tribute to Sarah J. Maas. If you have missed our first guest, Alexa, you can read her tribute right here. Today, we welcome Charlee Vale for our second tribute:

It’s obvious from the love on Twitter and the net that so many people love both Sarah J. Maas and the Throne of Glass series. So today I’m going to tell you how I was introduced to the series, and why exactly I LOVE it.

Unlike some people who have been tracking Throne of Glass’ progression to publication, I had never heard of it before May 2012. I had the wonderful opportunity to attend Book Expo America for the first time that year, and in the midst of picking up galleys from piles and furiously trying to make it to all the signings I wanted, Throne of Glass made it into my bag.

Now, keep in mind that I had no idea what the book was really about. I had read the blurb, it sounded interesting, and I thought the cover (The original cover with the model and glass castle on it) was gorgeous and intriguing. It’s because of that cover that even after BEA it stayed on my radar.

It was the second or third book from BEA I read that Summer, and I devoured it. I think I read it in one sitting. It’s the perfect blend of romance, intrigue, kick-ass, and hot guys to draw you and keep you there, despite pummelling your heart multiple times over. As soon as I was done I knew I wanted more.

This year at BEA, Crown of Midnight was easily my number one book of the expo. If I had only gotten that book, I still would have been happy. I was not the only one sharing this sentiment. I asked a lot of people what their number one was, and Crown of Midnight was on many people’s lips.

This time around, I got to meet Sarah. She’s lovely, and giggly, and her friendship with Susan Dennard is endearing and fun to watch. While at Teen Author Carnival, I got the chance to talk to Sarah for a little while, and I told her how many people were ridiculously excited for her signing the next day. I said that I bet there would already be a line an hour before hand.

She refused to believe me. After I insisted she made a bet with me. “If there’s already a line an hour before hand, when you come through I’m going to give you an extra-special ARC.” I agreed, knowing that I would so easily win this bet.

The next day I went about my schedule, and when it was a little less than an hour away from Sarah’s signing, I went to check the line. Twenty people. I started to laugh, more from how awesome it was than at the thought of victory. I saw Sarah with some other authors that I knew, and went over to say hi. The conversation pretty much went like this.

Me: Sarah, I just checked your line.

Sarah: Why did you do that? I told you there won’t be anyone there.

Me: There’s already like twenty people.

Sarah: WHAT?

Me: Told you.

Sarah: Shut up. You’re not serious.

Me: I’m completely serious. I told you everyone wanted the book.

When I left she was still flabbergasted, but when I got to the front of said line, she kept her word—my ARC of Crown of Midnight is filled with stars and smiley faces and ‘YOU WERE RIGHT!’

So I’m pretty sure that explains why I not only love this series, I love its author. She’s friendly, adorable, down to earth, and I’m still pretty sure she has no idea just how many fans she actually has.

Oh, and if you haven’t read Crown of Midnight yet, stop reading this post immediately and go do that. It was the first book I read after BEA and I’m still reeling. The ending, how awesome it was, and Chaol. **Swoon**

This series is perfect if you want to escape for a while to a world where girls can kick ass and still get to where pretty dresses. Throw Sarah some love for the release of Crown of Midnight  if you haven’t already!

Thank you ever so much to Charlee for this great post! Charlee Vale is a Young Adult writer, photographer, and tea lover living in New York City. You can also find her at her website, and on Twitter. Don’t forget to share your love for Sarah and her work in the comments! And if you have not started it yet, go have a look at Sarah J. Maas and Susan Dennard’s latest adventure: The Starkillers Cycle! We will see you on Sunday for our last tribute, but watch out for next month’s featured book 🙂

2 responses to “Tribute to Sarah J. Maas – Charlee Vale

  1. Sarah is the BEST at signing books. She wrote “EEEEEE” all over mine and we were both saying it at the same time throughout! Great guest post and it was fun reading how you found the series!! I’m envious you were at BEA!

  2. Pingback: Tribute to Sarah J. Maas – Paola (A Novel Idea!) | Ink Shelves·

Leave a Reply

