The False Prince – Jennifer A. Nielsen

thefinalprincecoverAuthor: Jennifer A. Nielsen
Series: The Ascendance Trilogy #1
Publication date: 1st April 2012
Publisher: Scholastic
Page number: 342 pages
Origin: Library

synopsisMeet Sage, a fourteen year old boy orphan in the process of stealing a roast for his dinner. Unfortunately for Sage, someone catches him before he even reaches the orphanage, and he will never get a chance to stick his teeth into that roast. Instead, he’s bought from the orphanage by Master Conner, and despite several attempts to escape, ends up at the back of a cart with four other boys.

Four boys who are of the same age and of remarkable resemblance to Sage. Before long, Conner reveals that the boys will be groomed and trained to impersonate the late Prince Jaron, who disappeared four years ago in a shipwreck. When a whole country is at stake, it is vital that a secret like that remains a secret, and the boys, even defiant Sage, know that death awaits them if they cross the line Conner has set.

Sage has two weeks to learn obedience and complete the tasks set for the boys. In competition with educated but naïve Tobias and strong Roden, Sage must prove to Conner that he is the perfect match to become the Prince.

ReviewDon’t trust the synopsis; it’s nowhere near as good as this book truly is. It took me a while to finally read it, because the back of the book didn’t appeal to me, and I had other more interesting books waiting for me. Please don’t make my mistake. Go out to the nearest library or bookshop and pick it up now. Read it. Gorge on it. Sorry if you miss half your night’s sleep because you couldn’t put it down (nah, I’m not really sorry.)

The plot itself is quite interesting, and although the book seems slow-paced, it more than makes up for it by being clever. I loved Sage’s defiance, and if you have read and enjoyed The Queen of Attolia series, I can only say that you’ll love Sage. Cunning and clever, he’s also fair and funny, which makes him all the more lovable.

As this is a first-person narrative book, you are bound to feel like you don’t know as much as you should and that some things are kept from you. While it’s true, I only felt it gave me more of a challenge to work out the plot twist. When I did, I had one of these light bulb moments, and I could not wait to get to the end to see if I had been right (no, no, I’m not telling you!)

The False Prince is a very cleverly written book, with interesting characters and a plot that could have been more developed but will no doubt keep you focused on the book and nothing else. I am greatly looking forward to reading the next book in the series, and will review it as soon as I can. In the meanwhile, GO PICK IT NOW!

Rating5splattersHWSignatureMarion

Leave a Reply

